Allie’s List: Top 5 Favorite Spongebob Squarepants Episodes

I’m ready, I’m ready, I’m ready, I’m ready for a GUEST WRITER.

free-spongebob-squarepants-screensaver

Wha – who – WHAT?!  Two animate this posts in one week???  It’s not the end of the world, it’s just my very first GUEST WRITER.  For this very special TV review, I leave you with the capable words of my fellow blogger, Allie.  Check out her sweet blog, Cone and the Creamarian, for your culinary pleasure.  Without further ado, please enjoy her guest post!  I’ll be back with a new review this weekend!  Have fun, guys!  – Laura

As a student participating in—and on the cusp of finishing—a rigorous academic program, who has a vested interest in world economics and social issues, and who uses fancy words like “jejune” and “apoplectic,” my comedic sensibilities are understandably quite sophisticated.  Which is why I am an unashamed fan of the animated TV show, SpongeBob Squarepants.  Duh.

820212

I get it, I get it.  Your face.  It’s saying why do you find that inane, juvenile program funny?  And funny enough to write a post about it, for that matter?

Well, it’s a couple things, really.  First—and the impact of this can never go disregarded—I started watching as a kid and the humor grew on me. Or perhaps I had already grown into that style of humor. After all, my older siblings had, by that point, introduced me to a steady regimen of Ren & Stimpy and Rocko’s Modern Life, two absurdist animated comedies from which some of Spongebob‘s characters and overall aesthetic would draw. But nostalgia is a powerful tool, and the enduring enjoyment of particular children’s movies and TV programming among adults is a prime example of this.

do you love it Pictures Eyelashes

Of course, Spongebob Squarepants wouldn’t be one of Nickelodeon’s most successful and longest running shows simply because I could laugh at its jokes when I was 12.  No, watching SB as an adult is still funny—and this is essential for a show’s longevity: it appeals to both kids and their parents.  Or, in my case, 20-something almost-adults.  Not only is the animation style dynamic (this show has mastered their own brand of freeze-frames and extreme close-ups) and its characters complex (not as much in their intelligence, but in their room for development and hijinks), but the dialogue is quotably-hilarious.  I can’t help putting on a sweater without starting to sing: the best time to wear a striped sweater, is all the tiiiiiimeeee.

But in the end, I respect that Spongebob can have a hit-or-miss type of appeal.  Its slapstick absurdity can be a turn-off for first time viewers.  You know what?  The show is like cold, leftover pizza. It’s delicious, and if you say you don’t like it, you’ve probably never had it or gave it a good chance.  And if you have tried it, and STILL you didn’t like it…. well, then you have terrible taste and whatever, dummy, more for me.

Spongebob-Squarepants-GIFs-spongebob-squarepants-23416985-500-325

 So, with no further fanfare, here we go: My top 5 favorite episodes of Spongebob Squarepants!

5. HALL MONITOR

Hall_Monitor_Gallery_(35)

Come on, he’s not the only one who’s ever let a little power get to his head.  Looking at you girl-who-tallied-the-milk-order-in-kindergarten-who-took-it-way-too-seriously-whose-name-I-don’t-remember.  Zing.

4. BAND GEEKS

Band_Geeks_SpongeBob

I wouldn’t call myself a band geek per se, but… I play the clarinet like a badass, and if I could do this dance, you BET I’d be doin’ it all the time.

tumblr_mp9d3kGPoC1rw201eo1_250

3. SECRET BOX

“It’s for me to know and for you to never find out.  You may be an open book SpongeBob, but I’m a bit more complicated than that…”

Spongebob_watch_bff

I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t searched for that ring on Ebay/Amazon/Esty/sketchy international e-commerce websites.

2. SOMETHING SMELLS

tumblr_mjc3twoTFR1qjhlhko1_500

“What is wrong with you people?! Afraid to look ugliness in the face? Well, here!! Look at it! It’s ugly, isn’t it?! [he points SpongeBob at five people] Here! You look at it! Look at it! Look at it! Look at it!!! I WANT ALL OF YOU TO LOOK AT IT!!!!!!!!!!”
tumblr_mccllt6iWg1qmt85zo1_1280 tumblr_mccllt6iWg1qmt85zo2_1280

1. JUST ONE BITE

1284588420_6

Hands down, this episode has some of the animated facial expressions I cherish most out of the entire series, and this reason alone is enough for “Just One Bite” to take the top spot.  In fact, if you were to ask any Spongebob fan (and I stand by the expanse of this generalization) what the best face in SB, it’s this one:

786

“You like Krabby Patties, don’t you, Squidward?”

Unsure_Skidworm

“Does this look unsure to you??”

Squid

An honorable mention goes out to the series of episodes with the aged superheroes, Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy.  This was my halloween costume. Twice.

photo_2

Man, I gotta get some more adult hobbies…

Think you got what it takes to be a guest writer for animate this?  Leave me your pitch in the comments and your entry might make it onto the blog!  Thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “Allie’s List: Top 5 Favorite Spongebob Squarepants Episodes

    • Thank you! I am not an animator…wish I had that talent though. Then again, I didn’t write this particular post. If you’d like to direct to your question to Allie the author, check out her blog! I’ve provided the link near the top of the post. Thanks for reading!

    • Should… I…? Maybe… I’ll… just go ahead and chime in. 🙂 Author here. Not an animator, either, but an appreciator of the art. Glad you enjoyed the post!

    • Why, thank you! I don’t understand the hate, either; not every TV show has to offer the same thing for its viewers, and SB is no exception. It’s absurd; it’s silly; it’s got some adult jokes in there. Why not enjoy it? I can’t say I still follow the show these days, but it was a lot of fun to revisit a bunch of old episodes that I find myself quoting perhaps more often than I should admit. 🙂

  1. Pingback: What does Spongebob and Ice Cream Have in Common? |

Leave a Reply

