Good News and Bad News

Welp…

engShrug02_01

Hello and happy New Year, my lovelies!  If you guys are doing the college thing like me, I hope you’re enjoying your holiday break.  And hopefully NOT wondering where I’ve been lately…

So, we got some good news and some bad news.  The good news is that Disney’s Frozen won the Golden Globe for Best Animated Feature Film last night!  I don’t know about you, but it was definitely MY pick for the year – especially since 2013 churned a weak turnout for animated films.  I’m lookin’ at YOU, Pixar.

Monsters-University8-574x344

And, as much as I loved Despicable Me 2…it wasn’t going to win an award.

Steve-Carell-Appears-on-Ellen-DeGeneres-as-Gru-Dances-With-The-Crowd--1

No.

Frozen definitely deserved to go home with the gold – but not enough gold, in my opinion.  The Disney throwback/powerhouse ballad “Let It Go” lost the award for Best Original Song and just…UGHHH.  It’s unfair for me to deeply criticize since I’m unfamiliar with the other nominees but…it’s an incredible song that has singlehandedly lead folks to believe Disney is entering a new Golden age.  I’m pretty disappointed.

disney_frozen___sad_elsa_by_sharnihendry-d6qu93k

Finally, I must apologize for not keeping up with my reviews as routinely as usual.  As some of you might know, animate this was started as an assignment for a college course, which is now over.  More good news: I fully intend to continue the blog!  More bad news: I’m unable to update the blog as regularly as usual…you can thank a new internship, new classes, and a new Downton Abbey obsession for that.

v3

I still have my South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut review in the works, but I haven’t settled on a new, steady schedule going forward.  So I wanted to turn it over to you guys.

What do you think I should do?  Update once a month?  Once every two weeks?  Maybe I’ll only review new releases?  Maybe I’ll only do lists?  Any advice for a poor, little blogger who doesn’t have much time on her hands?  Let me know in the comments, and thank you for reading!

5 thoughts on “Good News and Bad News

  1. Aw…I really love your blog! What college course required this blog?

    You can update once a week or maybe once every two weeks. But if so, then hopefully your reviews will be as epic as they’ve been or even more. Lists are fun too!

    Do you have a “Sherlock” obsession as well?

    • It was an online writing class, and I loved it. And thanks so much for your feedback, I appreciate your readership!

      Haha my roommate is the one who’s obsessed with Sherlock…so, between the two of us, we’re a Masterpiece Classics encyclopedia. Do you watch both or just Sherlock?

  2. Yes, I wanted to see “Let It Go” win an award as well, because I’m a big Idina Menzel fan — I think the chorus borrows a bit too much from the style of contemporary R&B ballads, but goes enough in a musical theater direction that theater geeks like me can get into it.

Leave a Reply

